All of those drunk emails I could have taken back. Google makes it possible with ‘Undo Send’!

tinawendy

I can remember a time when sending an email was a  frightening and humiliating experience. Like, last week when I spammed a friend about my cat. I shouldn’t have. My brain knew better, but drunk me didn’t care and was sure everyone loved my cat as much as I do. Now, with Google’s ‘Undo Send’ drunk me has the chance to ignore the lifeline Google throws out there to keep me from losing friends.

Knowing drunk me, she’ll ignore such help, not know how to function at such a high level, or just see herself as too witty  for fail safes like that. That’s are for stupid people.

sadly-go-karts

But regular me is super excited about the ‘Undo Send’ function. All of the awkward emails this will save me from sending! All of the awkward emails this could have saved me from. I’m actually kind of angry they kept it to themselves all this time. They could have kept me from sending that embarrassing email a really long time ago to an old boyfriend filled with feelings that would be brutally rejected. That email rambling on and on to a friend that was super done with my shit before the first paragraph. That time I sent a bunch of photos to the person that didn’t get invited to the party. An email full of really awesome advice that I should have kept to my damn self because it was unsolicited.

Each one of those situations could have been avoided if, after I had a chance to experience to feel some sender’s remorse I  had  been allowed to get the email back. Nope, my emails of doom were allowed to float away from me to do their damage. At least my children won’t have to go through the same thing. They won’t have to sit there, and explain to their friends why they sent an email a page long about their cat.

cat in the table

I should not have to justify myself. He is my cat. I’m a cat lady. That is all there is to it.

2 thoughts on “All of those drunk emails I could have taken back. Google makes it possible with ‘Undo Send’!

  1. Erin S. Burns July 8, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    Why do they not publicize this? Why isn’t there a banner at the top of your gmail account “Set up your unsend, set it up right now ya’ boozy bastid.”

    Like

    • wendyblack1 July 9, 2015 / 4:43 am

      I KNOW!! My friend Sarah posted about on Facebook, and I couldn’t believe my eyes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

